The Great Story Timeline, Part 2

VIII. Cenozoic Era (Age of Mammals and Birds) begins.

(Use small green beads as spacers, with different hues of green for the first 6 of 7 epochs of the Cenozoic. Use pink and white beads for the final, Holocene, epoch.)

The Cenozoic has only two geological "periods" — the Tertiary and the Quaternary (or sometimes divided into the Paleogene and the Neogene) — but it is more helpful to speak of the geological "epochs" within these periods. The Tertiary entails the Paleocene, Eocene, Oligocene, Miocene, and Pliocene epochs. The Quaternary includes just the Pleistocene and the Holocene epochs. For our purposes, we treat the Paleocene through the Pleistocene as hues of green. Even though humans originated in the Pleistocene, we did not become a dominant force on Earth until the Holocene. We use various shades of pink and white beads for the Holocene, to mark significant periods within the human realm.

65-57 mya PALEOCENE

57-34 mya EOCENE

Home  |  About The Great Story  |  About Us  |  Traveling Ministry and Events
What Others Say  | 
Programs and Presentations  |  Audios and Videos  |  Our Writings
Great Story Beads  | 
Testimonials  |  Parables  |  Sacred Sites
Favorite Links & Resources  |  Join Us!